AB 60

AB 60 passed the State Legislature on September 12, 2013 and goes into effect January 1, 2015. AB 60 allows undocumented individuals, 16-years or older, who are eligible, to receive a California State Driver's License. 

AB 60 prohibits law enforcement agencies from using the driver license for criminal investigation, arrest, or detention based on immigration status.

Who is eligible?

Undocumented individuals, 16-years or older are eligible to receive a driver's license.

What is required?

  • Applicants must schedule an appointment with the California DMV. The appointment should be made as an "Original Driver License"
  • Study for the driver license exam
  • Complete a driver license application form (DL 44) available at the DMV office
  • Provide the DMV with Proof of identity and Caifornia residency
  • Pass a vision test, knowledge test, and if applicable, a road sign test
  • Give a thumb print
  • Have a picture taken
  • Schedule a future appointment for the behind-the-wheel driving test
  • NOTE: Applicants under 18 applying for an original driver license will also need to submit proof of driver education completion

Practice Material and Other Resources

Visit the Califonia Department of Motor Vehicles's website for more practice material and other resources (such as regulations). 

Additional practice tests and manuals can be found at DriversEd.com (Spanish).